Rocket Science (2007) – 4.5/5

This movie is awesome! It also has some of the most hilarious one-liners and laugh out loud moments I’ve ever seen.

The acting is really great, especially from Anna Kendrick. Her delivery is so damn sexy; it takes so much skill to pull off all that dialogue the way she does. And the actor who plays the main character did an excellent job. He reminded me of me in my youth, except more attractive and luckier with women. Good for him.

This is also one of the few films I’ve ever seen that portrays stuttering as it is, that is, an annoying disability that drives everyone associated with it crazy, including the stutterer in question. I stutter, so I should know. The weird looks, the awkward moments, the frustration, it’s all accurate for the most part.

If you’ve ever wondered what it’d be like to be in my shoes for 2 hours, though why you would wonder such a thing is beyond me, watch this film. It’s not a completely accurate portrayal of my life, (not enough sex/violence, naturally), but it is accurate in its portrayal of someone stricken with the disability.

It’s also really well acted, well shot, well directed, well written, and may very well be one of the most brilliant films I’ve seen in years. This is what Juno and Little Miss Sunshine aspired to be but never quite reached. On par with “The Squid and the Whale,” really. Go see it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

