The Producers (1968) – 2.5/5

Eh. Typical Mel Brooks overrated comedy. Funny at times, and clever concept, but poorly shot, acted, directed, staged. You name it, it’s bad, except the writing, which was okay. Probably the best film of his I’ve seen so far, but that’s not saying much as his stuff tends to be quite horrible.

Also, something odd I noticed: the actor playing Hitler in the play has the same personality as Robin Williams, right down to the mannerisms and voice. But this movie was shot in 1968, way before Robin Williams’ time. Is it possible that Williams stole this guy’s shtick and made an entire career out of it? I think so. Don’t believe me? Watch the film. Their personalities are almost identical.

    • Luke
    • April 18th, 2013

    I’m glad I’m not the only person who thinks so! I had to do some serious googling to make sure it wasn’t him. He’s exactly the same as Robin Williams. Uncanny.

    • They say Robin Williams has a tendency to steal a lot of his material from other comics. Maybe he stole his persona as well. A shame, as I’ve always been a big fan.

  1. January 14th, 2012

Leave a Reply

