Entre les Murs (The Class) (2008) – 4.5/5

Great and disturbing. This is the film that won all sorts of fancy French awards in ’08, and I can see why, sort of.

It’s not disturbing in the traditional sense; there’s nothing disturbing about it, actually. It’s just so realistic that it’s frightening. It brought me back to my youth in school, in class. Very weird. I’ve never seen a film that’s managed to realistically capture a “class” the way this does.

It’s extremely well acted, and though it doesn’t really have much of a plot, and takes about 20 minutes to get into, it’s an acquired taste, once you’re in, it’s great. Unlike anything you’ve ever seen.

Though I liked it, I find it hard to believe that this was the best film at Cannes, or was considered to be as such by their judges. I mean, it was good, but it wasn’t anything utterly brilliant. I guess the unique nature of the film gave it the boost it needed. Still, I don’t know.

But check it out. The trailer for it makes it look like a typical stupid feel good “teacher overcomes the odds” type film, but it’s not like that at all. It’s great. Really, really great. Watch it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

